Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Who has won the most Premier League titles? Man United, Man City, Liverpool and list of English league winners

Van Persie Ferguson
who has won the most premier league titles? man united,

There is no doubt that Manchester City are the dominant force in English football right now. Under Pep Guardiola, they have won their fifth Premier League title in six years – and seventh in modern times.

However, City still have a long way to go to catch up with the most successful clubs in England national team history: their closest rivals, Manchester United.

When it comes to all-time winnings and Premier League titles, United top the list thanks to the relentless success they’ve had under Sir Alex Ferguson over a 27-year period.

Sporting News breaks down the number of league titles and how England’s top clubs compare to one another throughout history…

???? Manchester City lift the Premier League trophy!

— Sports News Football Club (@sn_footballclub) May 21, 2023

MORE: Manchester United vs Man City: Battle to win more Premier League trophies

Who has won the most Premier League titles?

Manchester United won most English Premier League titles of any club with 13although they haven’t won the biggest prize since Ferguson’s retirement a decade ago.

City have secured their seventh Premier League titlewhat makes them second most successful team since the league was founded 1992/93. Chelsea have won five, Arsenal three, while Liverpool, Leicester City and Blackburn Rovers have each won a league title.

Most English league titles

Of course, football existed before 1993 and it was Liverpool who largely dominated the English game, particularly in the 1970s and 1980s.

Liverpool have won 18 league titles before the Premier League, which together with the league title won under Jurgen Klopp since 2019/20 gives the team 19 English domestic titles in total.

But that’s just short of United’s 20-title tally, with the Old Trafford club lifting the top prize seven times before the Premier League era and then 13 more in the 1990s, 2000s and 2010s under Ferguson.

City draw level with Everton with nine overall titles after triumphing in 2022/23 under Guardiola. Arsenal (13) remain in third place, with Aston Villa, Chelsea and Sunderland all having won six or more titles.

could that #PL Will another dramatic defining moment this weekend confirm the title? ????

— Premier League (@premierleague) May 19, 2023

Most English league titles by club

team Number of championship titles*
1. Man United 20
2. Liverpool 19
3. arsenal 13
4. everton 9
man city 9
6. AstonVilla 7
7. Chelsea 6
sunderland 6
9. newcastle 4
Sheffield Wednesday 4

* Excludes non-major division championship titles

MORE: Is Guardiola’s Man City the greatest Premier League team of all time?

List of Premier League winners

The two Manchester clubs have dominated the Premier League era. Together they won 20 titles. This means that since the Premier League was formed in 1992, the majority of the title has landed in Manchester.

Blackburn Rovers, Arsenal, Chelsea, Leicester City and Liverpool are the only other clubs to have won the top flight title in the Premier League era.

season Premier League winners Manager
1992/93 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
1993/94 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
1994/95 Blackburn Rovers Kenny Dalglish
1995/96 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
1996/97 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
1997/98 arsenal Arsène Wenger
1998/99 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
1999/2000 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
2000/01 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
2001/02 arsenal Arsène Wenger
2002/03 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
2003/04 arsenal Arsène Wenger
2004/05 Chelsea Jose Mourinho
2005/06 Chelsea Jose Mourinho
2006/07 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
2007/08 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
2008/09 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
2009/10 Chelsea Charles Ancelotti
2010/11 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
2011/12 Manchester City Robert Mancini
2012/13 Manchester United Sir Alex Ferguson
2013/14 Manchester City Manuel Pellegrini
2014/15 Chelsea Jose Mourinho
2015/16 Leicester City Claudio Ranieri
2016/17 Chelsea Antonio Conte
2017/18 Manchester City pep Guardiola
2018/19 Manchester City pep Guardiola
2019/20 Liverpool Jürgen Klopp
2020/21 Manchester City pep Guardiola
2021/22 Manchester City pep Guardiola
2022/23 Manchester City pep Guardiola

Written By

Dave Gallo is a pioneering sports analytics expert, renowned for his revolutionary work in AI-driven sports simulations, projections, and advanced statistical analysis. With a profound passion for sports and technology, he crafts cutting-edge computer models that accurately predict outcomes. Dave's game-changing insights have reshaped strategy, player evaluation, and decision-making across various sports. His dynamic presentations make complex analytics accessible and inspiring, ensuring his legacy as a visionary in sports analytics. Check out Dave's Pick Record.

You May Also Like


2022 NFL Draft Trends: Aidan Hutchinson Favors Top Pick, Malik Willis Favors First QB Taken Thank you for your feedback! Sportsbook Review uses cookies...


The 2022 MLB season continues on Thursday, July 14 as this year’s All-Star Game is only mere days away. One game of note on...


The 2022 Commonwealth Games start this Thursday and end on August 8th and the legit betting sites featured in our online sportsbook reviews have...


TAMPA, FLORIDA – JANUARY 16: Jalen Hurts #1 of the Philadelphia Eagles throws a pass against the Philadelphia Eagles...